Support Portal

How to shutdown a server

As your server is provided as a managed service which is monitored by our Support Team, it is essential you notify us in advance of shutting down your server. You can do this by submitting a new request from the top right of this page.

If you wish to shutdown  your server, you need to ensure it is shut down cleanly to avoid any corruption or data loss.

How to shut down a single server

To initiate a clean shutdown of the server, do a momentary press of the power button on the front of the server. This initiates a clean shutdown of all the virtual machines on the server, and then it will shutdown the server.

The LAN, WAN, and WiFi LEDs on the server flash to indicate that the server shutdown is in progress

After approx 15 minutes the server will shut down and the power LED will be red.  (A red system power LED/button means that the server has the power connected, but is turned off.) You can now disconnect the power if necessary.

 

How to shutdown both servers in a HA cluster

To initiate a clean shutdown of both of the servers in your cluster, do a momentary press of the power button on the front of both servers within 30 seconds of each other.

This initiates a clean shutdown of all the virtual machines on both of the servers, and then both servers will shutdown.

The LAN, WAN, and WiFi LEDs on the server flash to indicate that the server shutdown is in progress

After approx 15 minutes the servers will shut down and the power LED will be red.  (A red system power LED/button means that the server has the power connected, but is turned off.) You can now disconnect the power if necessary.

Was this article helpful? 0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request